Grime Quotes

“I was never really affected by it because I don’t have the time to go up to every grime kid and explain the ideology and the lifestyle. It’s too hard….Look at Afrikan Boy, he still has that problem. You have this talent to see something and articulate something new, but you can’t because the arena to do that doesn’t exist. It’s easier to breed movements in England than really support one artist, especially in urban culture.” – M.I.A.

“The Buraka sound is a mix of electronic ghetto genres, from reggaeton to moombahton, kizomba to grime, dirty south to dubstep,” – Buraka Som Sistema

“I would make a hip-hop tune, then a garage tune, or a grime tune, or a slow-jam tune. Any kind of beat, I was making it, them times. Now I make music that I don’t really have a genre for, but it just feels like it’s all in one.” – Cooly G

“Sometimes I have to think about hip-hop and then next it will be American folk and I’ve got to see how to get a banjo across on an electric guitar.” – Elliott Morris

This entry was posted in Music Genres and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

