John Bonham Quotes

“I never had any lessons. When I first started playing I used to read music. I was very interested in music. But when I started playing in groups I did a silly thing and dropped it. It’s great if you can write things down.” – John Bonham

“We once did six tours of America in 15 months.” – John Bonham

“I think the marketing needs work.” – John Bonham

“I don’t consider that I’m particularly influenced by anyone or anything. But when I started playing, I was influenced by early soul. It was just that feel, that sound.” – John Bonham

“Drumming was the only thing I was ever good at.” – John Bonham

“Not everybody likes or understands a drum solo, so I like to bring in effects and sounds to keep their interest.” – John Bonham

“I have no qualm about the quality of the contemporary repertory,” – John Bonham

“I’ve wanted to be a drummer since I was about five years old. I used to play on a bath salt container with wires on the bottom, and on a round coffee tin with a loose wire fixed to it to give a snare drum effect. Plus there were always my Mum’s pots and pans. When I was ten, my Mum bought me a snare drum. My Dad bought me my first full drum kit when I was 15. It was almost prehistoric. Most of it was rust.” – John Bonham

“I dare not drink before a gig because I’ll get tired and blow it. So I have to sit drinking tea in a caravan.” – John Bonham

“If we’d have said we were not upset, they would have thought we were so rich it meant nothing to us, and if we say we’re upset about it, they’ll say money is all we care about.” – John Bonham

“I swore to Pat that I’d give up drumming when we got married, but every night I’d come home and just sit down at the drums. I’d be miserable if I didn’t.” – John Bonham

“I hate it when people slag us off. We had done three tours during 1970 and we finished off feeling we had just about had enough. We had done so much in that short space of time, we were drained.” – John Bonham

“Your drummers not much good, is he? Let me have a go and I’ll show you.” – John Bonham

“I remember in the early days when we played six nights a week for a month and I was doing my long drum solo every night. My hands were covered in blisters.” – John Bonham

“When I started playing I was most impressed by those early soul records. I like the feel and the sound they achieved. I suppose I said to myself, I’ll get that sound too.” – John Bonham

“My nerves before a gig got worse; I had terrible bad nerves all the time. Once we started… I was fine.” – John Bonham

“With Zeppelin, I tried to play something different every night in my solos. I’d play for 20 minutes but the longest ever was 30 minutes. It’s a long time, but whenI was playing it seemed to fly by.” – John Bonham

“It’s been fantastic, the response, … It’s been overwhelming the fans.” – John Bonham

“I was so keen to play when I left school, I’d have played for nothing. In fact, I did that for a long time, but my parents stuck by me.” – John Bonham

John Bonham was the drummer of English rock band Led Zeppelin.

This entry was posted in Drummer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

