Quotes by Buddy Rich

Below are some quotes from the world’s greatest drummer Buddy Rich:

“Every drummer that had a name, had a name because of his individual playing. He didn’t sound like anybody else, So everybody that I ever listened to, in some form, influenced my taste.” – Buddy Rich

“I consider every drummer that ever played before me an influence, in every way.” – Buddy Rich

“You only get better by playing.” – Buddy Rich

“Music will always be young.” – Buddy Rich to Richard Parkinson in 1987 on the Parkinson BBC One programme.

“I can’t sit down long enough to absorb any kind of learning.” – Buddy Rich

“You either swing a band or don’t swing a band and that’s what’s lacking today.. There aren’t any guys who get back there and play with any kind of guts.” – Buddy Rich

“I think at one time every drummer wanted to play like Krupa or wanted to win a Gene Krupa drum contest. This is the big inspiration for drummers and naturally it has to be the same way for me.” – Buddy Rich

“And, well of course, Count Basie, and I think all of the black bands of the late thirties and early forties, bands with real players. They had an influence on everybody, not just drummers.” – Buddy Rich

“Well, I never really practiced because I never had the opportunity to practice.” – Buddy Rich

“I can think of a lot better things to do with my hands than to cut them up on the rim of a drum.” – Buddy Rich

“To have everything written for you… It’s not really creating. That’s why I think symphony drummers are so limited. They ‘re limited to exactly what was played a hundred years before them by a thousand other drummers.” – Buddy Rich

“As far as music school goes. I walked through Berkeley one time to visit with some people I know.” – Buddy Rich

“No, I don’t like recording. It’s a bore.” – Buddy Rich

“And, you know, I think the original recording of Ravel’s Bolero, probably whoever played percussion on that, will never have It played better than that.” – Buddy Rich

“It takes us about four or five days to get an album out.” – Buddy Rich

This entry was posted in Drummer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quotes by Buddy Rich

  1. These Buddy Rich quotes are, well , rich.

Leave a Reply

