John Lydon Quotes

Quotes by John Lydon – known by stage name Johnny Rotten – who is best known as the lead singer of punk band the Sex Pistols.

“For me, the best rock is not what you play – it’s what you’re not playing.” – John Lydon

“Live music is healthy.” – John Lydon

“You’re made to feel ugly, and I made ugly beautiful. Just by sheer persistence. Nobody has the right to say that I am ugly, and I will not be a professional victim, you know. Sorry!” – John Lydon

“Music can describe emotions far more accurately than words ever can. as soon as I realised that, I knew music was where I wanted to be.” – John Lydon

“Art should be life. It’s an imitation of life. It should have some humanity in it.” – John Lydon

“I’ve created several musical trends, really. That’s not because I’m so far out and fabulous. It’s because most bands have no ideas of their own. They’re so desperate they’ll grab at any old straw.” – John Lydon

“The day I run out of ideas is the day I stop making records.” – John Lydon

“We’re Sex Pistols, we ain’t fake.” – John Lydon

“Obama’s dense as a doorbell; not much going on up there – it’s a wooden top.” – John Lydon

“Records were vitally important to the development of music and of all music cultures. With that being pushed by the wayside, I can’t see an iPod uniting us. In fact it separates us, the streets are full of people bumping into lamp posts, listening to their own little universe, and there’s no sharing in that.” – John Lydon

“You can’t arrest me, I’m a rockstar.” – John Lydon

“I applaud the effort it takes to put a record together.” – John Lydon

“You’d have to be daft as a brush to say you didn’t like Pink Floyd.” – John Lydon

“You know, I’ve been to some superstars’ houses, and I’ve been really disgusted when I see their platinum discs hanging in the toilet. They’re just there on the walls glaring at you when you’re trying to be occupied with other things.” – John Lydon

This entry was posted in Singer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

