Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Quotes

Quotes by Russian composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (alternate name Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky).

“The creative process is like music which takes root with extraordinary force and rapidity” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

“Even in the works of the greatest master, the organic sequence can fail and then a skillful join must be made.” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

“Truly there would be reason to go mad were it not for music.” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

“Inspiration is a guest that does not willingly visit the lazy.” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

“A self-respecting artist must not fold his hands on the pretext that he is not in the mood.” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

“After the last notes of Gotterdammerung I felt as though I had been let out of prison.” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

“To regret the past, to hope in the future, and never to be satisfied with the present: that is what I spend my whole life doing” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

“I feel I shall live a long time. ” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky to his brother, after composing the Pathetique Symphony (No. 6)

“What I need is to believe in myself again— for my faith has been greatly undermined; it seems to me my role is over.” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s letter to his nephew (9 February 1893) Just prior to composing the Pathetique Symphony

“I sit down to the piano regularly at nine-o’clock in the morning and Mesdames les Muses have learned to be on time for that rendezvous.” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

“It is already a great thing if the main ideas and general outline of a work come without any racking of brains, as the result of that supernatural and inexplicable force we call inspiration.” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

“I played over the music of that scoundrel Brahms. What a giftless bastard! It annoys me that this self-inflated mediocrity is hailed as a genius.” – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s diary entry for October 9, 1886.

This entry was posted in Composer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Quotes

  1. ljerkadevcic says:

    Reblogged this on ljerkadevcic and commented:
    Music is heaven’s best gift to humanity….(who finds the whole quote I’d be grateful to have)

    • Here’s the full quote…
      “…You see, my dear friend, I am made up of contradictions, and I have reached a very mature age without resting upon anything positive, without having calmed my restless spirit either by religion or philosophy. Undoubtedly I should have gone mad but for music. Music is indeed the most beautiful of all Heaven’s gifts to humanity wandering in the darkness. Alone it calms, enlightens, and stills our souls. It is not the straw to which the drowning man clings; but a true friend, refuge, and comforter, for whose sake life is worth living”
      ― Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

  2. Pingback: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Quotes | ljerkadevcic

Leave a Reply

