Quotes By Dmitri Shostakovich

Dmitri Dmitriyevich Shostakovich was a Soviet composer and pianist. He is regarded as one of the most influential Russian composers of the 20th century.

“I always try to make myself as widely understood as possible, and if I don’t succeed I consider it’s my own fault.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

“A creative artist works on his next composition because he was not satisfied with his previous one.” – Dimitri Shostakovich

“I write music, it’s performed. After all, my music says it all. It doesn’t need historical and hysterical commentaries. In the long run, any words about music are less important than the music.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

“Real music is always revolutionary, for it cements the ranks of the people; it arouses them and leads them onward.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

“If they cut off both hands, I will compose music anyway holding the pen in my teeth.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

“Art destroys silence.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

“The majority of my symphonies are tombstones.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

“What can be considered human emotions? Surely not only lyricism, sadness, tragedy? Doesn’t laughter also have a claim to that lofty title? I want to fight for the legitimate right of laughter in “serious” music.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

“Football is the ballet of the masses.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

“I live in the USSR, work actively and count naturally on the worker and peasant spectator. If I am not comprehensible to them I should be deported.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

“When a man is in despair, it means that he still believes in something.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

“What you have in your head, put down on paper. The head is a fragile vessel.” – Dmitri Shostakovich

This entry was posted in Composer, Pianist and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

