Quotes By Suzanne Vega

Suzanne Vega is widely regarded as one of the most brilliant songwriters of her generation.

“Writing is always personal in some way but not always in a direct way.” – Suzanne Vega

“I loved the atmosphere of the dance studios – the wooden floors, the big mirrors, everyone dressed in pink or black tights, the musicians accompanying us – and the feeling of ritual the classes had.” – Suzanne Vega

“It’s striking how commercially viable that impulse for instant intimacy is right now, especially in songs and writing.” – Suzanne Vega

“I think that if you have a strong narrative, if the idea of the song can be boiled down to the basics, it won’t change that much.” – Suzanne Vega

“I refuse to slap some stupid words on the stupid paper just so we have a stupid song finished.” – Suzanne Vega

“Besides dancing at school and the studios, I’d written all these songs and had begun to play them at auditions.” – Suzanne Vega

“Girls are crazy and mean. They don’t fight fair.” – Suzanne Vega

“There are no rules in fights with girls. Just hurting.” – Suzanne Vega

“If you have to fight a crowd of boys, it’s best to go for the biggest one. That way you won’t have to fight them all. The others will see that you mean business and you will win their respect.” – Suzanne Vega

“I still consider myself a feminist.” – Suzanne Vega

“To me, a feminist belongs in the same category as a humanist or an advocate for human rights. I don’t see why someone who’s a feminist should be thought of differently.” – Suzanne Vega

“That said, I’ve never thought the fact that I’m a woman was important to my work.” – Suzanne Vega

“Some girls are taught to be sexy.” – Suzanne Vega

“I didn’t go out looking for fights as a kid, but if it was necessary, I’d fight. Fighting was a daily thing where we lived.” – Suzanne Vega

This entry was posted in Singer, Songwriter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

