Joseph Haydn Quotes

Franz Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809) known as Joseph Haydn was one of the most prominent composers of the Classical period, and is called by some the “Father of the Symphony” and “Father of the String Quartet”.

“I listened more than I studied… therefore little by little my knowledge and ability were developed.” – Joseph Haydn

“There was no one near to confuse me, so I was forced to become original.” – Joseph Haydn

“Young people can learn from my example that something can come from nothing. What I have become is the result of my hard efforts.” – Joseph Haydn

“I was cut off from the world. There was no one to confuse or torment me, and I was forced to become original.” – Joseph Haydn

“Whenever I think of God I can only conceive of Him as a Being infinitely great and infinitely good. This last quality of the divine nature inspires me with such confidence and joy that I could have written even a miserere in tempo allegro.” – Joseph Haydn

“I was never a quick writer, but composed with great care and efforts.” – Joseph Haydn

“If you want to know whether you have written anything worth preserving, sing it to yourself without any accompaniment.” – Joseph Haydn

“I’m going to commune with God and I must be appropriately dressed!” – Joseph Haydn on putting on good clothes before composing.

“Be good and industrious and serve God continually.” – Joseph Haydn

This entry was posted in Composer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

