Jules Massenet’s Quotes

Jules Massenet was a French composer best known for his operas.  His music is admired for its lyricism, sensuality, occasional sentimentality, and theatrical aptness.

“If I were to agree to write the music for your beautiful poem, it would tie your poem up for some years as I have agreements and obligations which I must respect.” – Jules Massenet

“Henceforth there will be no letters to answer; I have bade farewell to first performances and the literary and other discussions which come from them.” – Jules Massenet

“Ah! if I could but counsel my friends to join me here, I would not hesitate to call them to me. But would they come?” – Jules Massenet

“I have departed from this planet and I have left behind my poor earthly ones with their occupations which are as many as they are useless; at last I am living in the scintillating splendor of the stars, each of which used to seem to me as large as millions of suns.” – Jules Massenet

This entry was posted in Composer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

