Victor Borge Quotes

Victor Borge, born Børge Rosenbaum, was a Danish comedian, conductor and pianist, affectionately known as The Clown Prince of Denmark, The Unmelancholy Dane, and The Great Dane.

“I learned to play the piano on my mother’s knee – that was before we got a piano.” – Victor Borge

“When an opera star sings her head off, she usually improves her appearance.” – Victor Borge

“The difference between a violin and a viola is that a viola burns longer.” – Victor Borge

“If I have caused just one person to wipe away a tear of laughter, that’s my reward.” – Victor Borge

“Laughter is the closest distance between two people.” – Victor Borge

“When I was a little boy and played Liebestraum, my father used to hit me on the head with a newspaper every time I slopped the cadenza . . . I hate Liebestraum.” – Victor Borge

“Santa Claus has the right idea – visit people only once a year.” – Victor Borge

“I wish to thank my parents for making it all possible… and I wish to thank my children for making it necessary.” – Victor Borge

“I only know two pieces; one is ‘Clair de Lune’ and the other one isn’t.” – Victor Borge

“A year ago last year the world celebrated the birth of Ludwig van Beethoven because it was his 200th anniversary. I’d like to join in the celebration by playing “Clair de lune’ by Claude Debussy.” – Victor Borge

“My father invented a cure for which there was no disease and unfortunately my mother caught it and died of it.” – Victor Borge

“The first piano was built long after they didn’t have any at all.” – Victor Borge

“Ah Mozart He was happily married – but his wife wasn’t.” – Victor Borge

“This is a wonderful orchestra. Every musician is an artist in her or his own right. It’s only when we play together that we might have a little problem.” – Victor Borge

This entry was posted in Pianist and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

