Quotes By Alanis Morissette About Songwriting

“With songwriting I spend a lot of time living life, accruing all these experiences, journaling, and then by the time I get to the studio I’m teeming with the drive to write.” – Alanis Morissette

“When I start writing songs and it turns into an overly belabored intellectual process, I just throw it out.” – Alanis Morissette

“I can’t not write, if I don’t then I get really depressed.” – Alanis Morissette

“The more vulnerable and the more confused the song is, the equal and opposite effect is how I feel after having written it.” – Alanis Morissette

“I make up new lyrics to well-known lullabies. Mostly because I don’t actually know a lot of the lyrics.” – Alanis Morissette

“I could write six songs in one day with everything that’s going on.” – Alanis Morissette

“I guess what people forget sometimes is that when I write songs, I write them sometimes in about 20 minutes.” – Alanis Morissette

“My son was five months old, and I built a makeshift studio in my living room so that I could do the attachment parenting approach and write the record at the same time. That was fortuitous, that we could build that in the house.” – Alanis Morissette

“When someone says that I’m angry it’s actually a compliment. I have not always been direct with my anger in my relationships, which is part of why I’d write about it in my songs because I had such fear around expressing anger as a woman.” – Alanis Morissette

“Do I appreciate the idea of jealousy, revenge and all these so-called dark qualities? Yes. Do I write these songs in order to engage in some public war with someone? No.” – Alanis Morissette

“My greatest achievement is being able to write records that are real snapshots of what’s going on in my life. I won’t repeat myself for the sake of commerce, or to please other people.” – Alanis Morissette

“The thing I always default to is that I’ll always be here to write songs.” – Alanis Morissette

“Typically I go in the studio and whatever I’m contemplating that day will wind up being a song. I don’t come in with lyrics… I just go in and let it happen.” – Alanis Morissette

“I’ll be writing songs till I die. There’s just no question.” – Alanis Morissette

“But I love to entertain. My vocation is to accrue all these experiences, to write about them, to get them out of my system, to not get sick, and then to share them publicly.” – Alanis Morissette

“When I was younger, I was terrified to express anger because it would often kick-start a horrible reaction in the men in my life. So I bit my tongue. I was left to painstakingly deal with the aftermath of my avoidance later in life, in therapy or through the lyrics of my songs.” – Alanis Morissette

“My brother says that I was writing songs about fate while he was off playing soccer. Now I tell him he’s 33 and being a professional while I’m playing soccer with my friends. Ha!” – Alanis Morissette

This entry was posted in Guitarist, Singer, Songwriter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

