Jeff Ament Quotes

Quotes by Jeff Ament who is the bassist for one of rock’s most successful bands Pearl Jam.

“I played djembe, percussion, keyboards and I sang.” – Jeff Ament

“Our first record didn’t come out on vinyl, so I think that might have had something to do with actually being in a position to make sure that it came out in vinyl this time. It sounds way better.” – Jeff Ament

“When I moved to Seattle, I was hanging out with kids who had done drugs, had sex a million times. I look at them now and realize their childhood was taken away.” – Jeff Ament

“I think I’ve become numb to that over the last 15 years,” – Jeff Ament

“I have to go someplace where I can soak myself in a creative atmosphere.” – Jeff Ament

“That’s probably half the reason I wanted to be in a band – I wanted to see the world.” – Jeff Ament

“With Pearl Jam, everybody is so good at what they do, it’s hard to get up the courage to say, Can I sing this part, or, I want to play guitar. I feel like I have more courage to do that.” – Jeff Ament

“We just finished making a record. Everybody wants to play shows, so we’re going to after that.” – Jeff Ament

“It was hard to figure out what were the good causes, the bad causes, even the good politics and the bad politics. So we started taking requests and figuring it out.” – Jeff Ament

“We’ve always been a band that stood up for what we thought was right.” – Jeff Ament

“I’m not going to say no to playing a show in Missoula.” – Jeff Ament

“We went to Big Sur about three years ago and hung out at the Esalen Institute.” – Jeff Ament

“It’s hard for us not to be involved with things. When you have so much information and you see so much need, there’s too much going on for us not to get involved.” – Jeff Ament

“Everybody got away from what Pearl Jam are supposed to be.” – Jeff Ament

“People from Farm Aid have approached us about shows. We’d never done it. So part of my pitch to the band is that this IS farm aid.” – Jeff Ament

“Make movies. Don’t make videos. Videos are evil.” – Jeff Ament

“I didn’t write this song. Someone was talking in a room. I just wrote down everything they said.” – Jeff Ament

“It’s great that people are basically spending their two weeks of vacation to come out and be with us in some weird part of the world. And I think we owe it to them to take ’em to some cool places.” – Jeff Ament

“Every few years I’ll party way too much to remind myself what an idiot I am.” – Jeff Ament

“I think at that point we were aspiring to be a Led Zeppelin kind of a band where you could pick up your acoustic instruments or you could go out and rock or you could play a country song. I love all those bands we got mentioned with, but it never felt like we fit into that group very well. So the fact that they’re still saying, ‘The band that survived grunge’ is kind of funny.” – Jeff Ament

This entry was posted in Guitarist, Songwriter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

