Roy Acuff Quotes

Roy Acuff was one of the greatest and most influential country musicians of all time. Known as The King of Country Music, he sold more than 30 million records in a career that lasted more than fifty years.

“Put your trust in the Lord and go ahead. Worry gets you no place.” – Roy Acuff

“I’ve done a whole lot of things. I’ve had the pleasure of introducing two presidents, several senators and congressmen.” – Roy Acuff

“I’d like to be remembered as a man who went to Heaven and not another place.” – Roy Acuff

“Turn loose and have fun. Give the audience a show.” – Roy Acuff

“Television made a lot of difference in country music. It’s progress. I believe in progress.” – Roy Acuff

“Any game you play, you got to lose sometime.” – Roy Acuff

“Don’t be a blueprint. Be an original.” – Roy Acuff

“I don’t owe one man one cent. Anywhere.” – Roy Acuff

“There were people coming in here from New York, California, Chicago, all different places that had publishing companies, trying to buy my songs.” – Roy Acuff

“The greatest thing the Democrats have ever done for me was to defeat me for the governor of Tennessee.” – Roy Acuff

“I’m going to be eighty soon, and I guess the one thing that puzzles me most is how quick it got here.” – Roy Acuff

This entry was posted in Fiddler, Singer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

