Stephen Sondheim Quotes

Stephen Sondheim, is America’s most venerated living composer and lyricist, who redefined the Broadway musical form with his creative and award winning productions.

“I don’t find my life that interesting. The shows, maybe. But not me.” – Stephen Sondheim

“I love the theater as much as music, and the whole idea of getting across to an audience and making them laugh, making them cry – just making them feel – is paramount to me.” – Stephen Sondheim

“Two of the hardest words in the language to rhyme are life and love. Of all words!” – Stephen Sondheim

“My personal life and my artistic life do not interfere with each other.” – Stephen Sondheim

“I chose and my world was shaken. So what? The choice may have been mistaken; the choosing was not. You have to move on.” – Stephen Sondheim

“I happen to like movies and plays about dislikeable people as long as I get to know why they are what they are.” – Stephen Sondheim

“Art, in itself, is an attempt to bring order out of chaos.” – Stephen Sondheim

“I certainly wanted my name in lights. I wanted my name on a marquee. I wanted recognition on Broadway.” – Stephen Sondheim

“Everyone I used to play with has either given up or is dead.” – Stephen Sondheim

“My mother wanted me off her hands. She was a working woman. She designed clothes, and she was a celebrity collector. It’s my mother’s ambition to be a celebrity.” – Stephen Sondheim

“I’m interested in the theater because I’m interested in communication with audiences. Otherwise I would be in concert music.” – Stephen Sondheim

“Oscar Hammerstein was a surrogate father during all those many days, and weeks and months when I didn’t see my own father.” – Stephen Sondheim

“The fact is popular art dates. It grows quaint. How many people feel strongly about Gilbert and Sullivan today compared to those who felt strongly in 1890?” – Stephen Sondheim

“I would have been a geologist.” – Stephen Sondheim

This entry was posted in Composer, Songwriter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

