Top 15 Fiddle Quotes

fiddle

  1. “The older the fiddler, the sweeter the tune.” – Pope Paul VI
  2. “I’ve been hearing fiddle music since I was in the womb, I’m sure.” – Natalie MacMaster
  3. “The trick to playing second fiddle is to play it like second Stradivarius.” – Robert Breault
  4. “I still play the fiddle every day. I’m afraid if I don’t, it won’t know who I am.” – Johnny Gimble
  5. “The rude beginnings of every art acquire a greater celebrity than the art in perfection; he who first played the fiddle was looked upon as a demigod.” – Voltaire
  6. “The music comes from the fiddler’s heart, through his strings and straight into your heart.” – Father John Angus Rankin, Cape Breton musician
  7. “I found it really hard for a couple of years to do any writing because all I wanted to do was play the fiddle. From the minute I took it up, I just couldn’t put it down.” – Kate Thompson
  8. “My grandfather played a mandolin, so I got my hands on that. Then on down to a banjo, and I found I couldn’t play any kind of soft or mournful music with that so I took up the fiddle in my late 20s or early 30s – and that was far too late. But it keeps me off the streets. It has been a love of mine since I was 17 maybe.” – Brendan Gleeson
  9. “The age of a woman doesn’t mean a thing. The best tunes are played on the oldest fiddles.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson
  10. “The ukulele was the first of many instruments they had bought for me. They got me a guitar when I was eleven, which my son Morgan uses until this day. They paid for 3 years of guitar lessons; they bought me a bass fiddle, which I still play.” – Tony Visconti
  11. “When I play on my fiddle in Dooney, Folk dance like a wave on the sea.” – William Butler Yeats
  12. “Music is my mistress and she plays second fiddle to no one.” – Duke Ellington
  13. “The most difficult instrument to play in the orchestra is second fiddle.” – Leonard Bernstein
  14. “Those who refuse to play second fiddle may wind up playing no fiddle at all.” – Mason Cooley
  15. “Others import yet nobler arts from France, Teach kings to fiddle, and make senates dance.” – Alexander Pope
This entry was posted in Musical Instruments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

