Quotes About The Father Of Modern Chicago Blues: Muddy Waters

“It was Muddy Waters who took the Delta blues north to Chicago, electrified the sound, and changed the course of popular music as we know it. That’s pretty much the judgment of history, and it is mine as well.” – Tim Cahill

“Did Muddy Waters play an acoustic? Well of course he did. But did he turn his back on being able to plug it in and play louder? No, he plugged in and turned it up and got miles and miles ahead of the game in one fateful act of just plugging in.” – Billy Gibbons

“James Cotton is a real blues guy, and he played with Muddy Waters, and it surprised me that they would want me to make a record with them, that he called me to do this record. I’d never done anything like that before. But I love blues, so I was very happy.” – Charlie Haden

“You had to go to a different part of town from where I was to get Muddy Waters singles. I had him on singles.” – Warren Zevon

“I found my God in music and the arts, with writers like Hermann Hesse, and musicians like Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf, and Little Walter. In some way, in some form, my God was always there, but now I have learned to talk to him.” – Eric Clapton

“So I went out and bought Hard Again by Muddy Waters. That was a big learning curve. I listened to that album again and again and again. James Cotton was the harmonica player on that album.” – Sonny Terry

This entry was posted in Guitarist, Singer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

